Africa CECAFA Championships Trending Uganda Cranes

Mukwala, Ocen make initial 30-man squad for CECAFA Challenge cup

Allan Okello and some of the other local based players after a training session today at the Star Times stadium / FUFA Photo

Uganda Cranes head coach Jonathan McKinstry has released an initial 30-man squad that will begin preparations for next month’s CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

Uganda will be the hosts of the 82nd edition of the CECAFA championships with the tournament due December 7th to 19th, 2019 in Kampala.

The summoned players are expected to arrive for training on Wednesday 27th November, at the StarTimes stadium, Lugogo.

However, players from SC Villa, KCCA and Proline who still have league engagements with their respective clubs are expected to arrive for training on Wednesday 3rd, December.

Uganda Premier League leading scorer Steven Mukwala has been included on the team, alongside in-form Vipers’ forward Fahad Bayo and Police FC’s Ben Ocen who has received his maiden national team call-up.

Joachim Ojera who impressed during the regional tour match last month in Katawki has been maintained as well. While Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers) and Hassan Ssenyonjo who featured for the U-20 side in the CECAFA championships September have also been summoned.

KCCA defender Samuel Kato Nemeyimana who is eligible to represent either Rwanda or Uganda has also been named on the squad, as Uganda seem to lock him down.

Express skipper and left back Disan Galiwango also makes a return to the team after being overlooked for recent engagements. While 16-year-old goalkeeper Jack Komakech is the only non-league player on the list.

The squad is made up of entirely local based players, as the technical team continue to use the CECAFA championships as early preparations for next year’s African Championship of Nations (CHAN ) championships.

The Cranes who are record winners of the championship have been drawn in Group A alongside 2005 and four time winners Ethiopia, Burundi who were runners up in 2004 and minnows Eritrea whose best finish was fourth in 1994.

The Cranes 30-man summoned squad:

Goalkeeper: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), James Alitho (URA), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC), Jack Komakech (Football for Good), Keni Saidi (SC Villa)

Defender: Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC), Mustapha Kizza (KCCA FC), Disan Galiwango (Express FC) John Revita (KCCA FC), Samuel Kato (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC)

Midfielders: Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers FC), Kirizestom Ntambi (Wakiso Giants FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC)

Strikers: Ben Ocen (Police FC), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United FC), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Stephen Mukwala (Maroons FC), Lubega Edrisa (Proline FC)

Related posts

Senegal’s Cisse summons teenager shot stopper for national duty

Herman Nnyanzi

Cranes: FUFA confirm McKinstry’s backroom staff

Shafic Kiyaga

Uganda players Abroad: Miya prolific, Kigonya heroic

Ronald Lusulire

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More