FUFA Women's Football

FUFA Awards: Mbekeka, Khalifah, Ndaula in contention for inaugural Women’s coach of the year

U-17 Crested Cranes head coach Ayub Khalifah | FUFA media

The organizing committee of the 2019 Airtel-FUFA Awards has revealed the nominees for the inaugural FUFA women’s coach of the year award.

Former Lady Dove’s head coach Oliver Mbekeka, Kawempe Muslim and Uganda U-17 coach Ayub Khalifa and Makerere University women team’s coach Fred Ndaula have made the final three-man shortlist.

Ayub helped Kawempe Muslim Ladies to reach the FUFA Women Elite League playoffs and was also in charge of the Uganda U17 Girls’ national team that won the maiden COSAFA U17 Championship. He also won several other trophies in FUFA sanctioned tournaments with his school.

Click here to vote for your 256 Footballer of the Year

Mbekeka led Lady Doves to two finals including FUFA Women Elite League and FUFA Women’s Cup although they lost on both occasions while Ndaula helped Makerere University to clinch the FUFA Women’s Cup, their first major title in history.

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the men’s coach of the year has also been revealed. KCCA manager Mike Mutebi who has won the award in the last three years will vie for the award against Police FC and Uganda Cranes Assistant coach Abdallah Mubiru and former Proline FC coach Shafic Bisaso.

Mutebi guided KCCA to the StarTimes Uganda Premier League, CECAFA Kagame Cup and FUFA Super Cup triumphs.

Click here to vote for your 256 Footballer of the Year

Mubiru guided Uganda Cranes to qualification for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) with impressive performances, as the Cranes beat Somalia and Burundi scoring thirteen goals and conceding just once during the entire course of qualifiers.

While Bisaso helped Proline FC to their first ever double, winning the StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

This is the fifth successive year that the Airtel FUFA Awards are organized and this year’s awards function will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort in Munyonyo.

Click here to vote for your 256 Footballer of the Year

Related posts

FWEL: Lady Doves aim at sealing playoff slot

Shafic Mutebi

Onyango, Aturo, Cranes recognized by USPA

Herman Nnyanzi

What does it take to make McKinstry’s squad?

Shafic Kiyaga

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More