Africa FUFA Trending Uganda Cranes

CHAN 2020 Qualifiers: Mubiru still has choices to make despite dropping six players

Uganda Cranes players warm up before a training session at the star times stadium, Lugogo | FUFA media

Uganda Cranes coach Abdallah Mubiru on Tuesday morning dropped six players ahead of the 2020 final CHAN qualification round first leg tie against Burundi this Saturday in Bujumbura.

Proline FC midfielder Sam “Tiyo” Kintu, Onduparaka FC skipper Ghadafi Wahab, Kyetume FC goalie Joel Mutakubwa, Maroons right back Eddy Kampapa, Police FC’s Samson Andrew and URA FC’s right back Ashraf Mandela are the players dropped.

The rest of the players in camp, traveled earlier today to the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru were they will hold a practice match with the Uganda Hippos (U-20) this evening.

Before the team left for Njeru, Mubiru expressed delight with the performance and attitude exhibited during the days the team has spent in camp, stating that it was unfortunate to see some players go.

“The players have been positive in training and everyone has given their absolute best to stake his place on the team. That is very encouraging, but unfortunately we have to make a choice.” Mubiru said.

Today’s practice match will see KCCA FC players Allan Okello, Sulaiman ‘Mike’ Mutyaba, Muzamir Mutyaba and defender Mustafa Kizza join the team for the first time since the team commenced with training last week.

The quartet was involved in their club’s champions league first round qualifier against Petro de Luanda in Angola.

It should be recalled that SC Villa goalkeeper Saidi Keni and Proline FC forward Edrisa Lubega were replaced by James Alitho and Joel Madondo respectively, while Proline FC midfielder Bright Anukani is expected to join the U-20 side.

Mubiru will further reduce the squad to 18 players who will travel to Burundi on Thursday.

The current players in camp;

Goalkeepers: Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Mugabi Yasin (Wakiso Giants Fc), Alitho James (URA)

Defenders: Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Kizza Mustafa (KCCA FC), Revita John (KCCA FC), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC), Mbowa Paul (URA FC), Galiwango Arafat (Police FC), Benson Tahomera (Kyetume FC).

Midfielders: Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City FC), Kasozi Nicolas (KCCA FC), Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC), Vianney Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Sulaiman Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Kagimu Shafiq (URA FC), Kayiwa Allan (Vipers SC), Okello Allan (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC), Owori David ( SC Villa ), Ssozi Yusuf ( Police FC).

Strikers: Bayo Fahad (Vipers SC), Sserunkuma Daniel (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United).

Related posts

SC Villa demand $50,000 for Mutanda release

Ronald Lusulire

FUFA launches 2026 World Cup campaign, sacks national teams’ personnel

Clive Kyazze

KPL: In-form Kasumba sets eyes on AFCON slot and KPL golden boot 

Kevin Kimani

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More