Uganda Premier League

UPL breaks four-year opening day tradition

Vipers striker Daniel Mzee Sserunkuma tries to go past a Ndejje Lions defender in the opening day of the 2018/2019 season / Vipers SC Image

Since the 2015/2016 season, there has been some sort of tradition in the Uganda Premier League that the defending champions host the champions of the FUFA Big League.

But that won’t be case as the new StarTimes Uganda Premier League kickoff on August 29th at Mandela National Stadium as Kyetume host SC Villa in one of the eight games to be played under floodlights this season.

KCCA FC will then host Wakiso Giants on August 31st at the StarTimes Stadium Lugogo while FUFA Big League champions Proline will visit Mbarara City at the Luzira Prisons’ Grounds.

Last Season league champions Vipers played the 2017/2018 FUFA Big League winner Ndejje Lions in the opening game of the season at Kitende.

KCCA FC (yellow) take on JMC Hippos (green) on the opening day of the 2016/2017 season at StarTimes Stadium Lugogo / FUFA Images

For the 2017/2018 and 2016/2017 opening day games champions on both occasions, KCCA FC played against Maroons and JMC Hippos respectively who were both Big League winners coming into those seasons.

Having won the 2014/2015 league title, Vipers took on The Saints on the day opening day of the 2015/2016 season.

The tradition might have been intentionally broken going into this season as Proline having won the Stanbic Uganda Cup qualified them to play against KCCA FC in the 2019 FUFA Super Cup which is slated for August 28th.

Past opening day fixtures
2018/2019: Vipers 1-0 Ndejje University
2017/2018: KCCA FC 0-0 Maroons
2016/2017: KCCA FC 2-1 JMC Hippos
2015/2016: Vipers 3-0 The Saints

2019/2020 Opening Day Fixtures
Kyetume vs SC Villa
URA vs Maroons FC
Bright Stars Vs Vipers SC
BUL vs Express
Onduparaka vs Police
Tooro vs Busoga United
KCCA FC vs Wakiso Giants
Mbarara City vs Proline.

Related posts

KCCA FC squeeze three points out of Busoga United

Brian Aheebwa

Review: Bayo brace sinks Express FC at Kitende

Shafic Kiyaga

Preview: Gadaffi in Limelight as Onduparaka visit Mbarara City

Brandon Matale

1 comment

[email protected] August 15, 2019 at 4:44 AM

Saints were not the winners of the big league in 2015, it was Maroons .


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More