Twenty nominated for inaugural 256 Football of the Year Award

Twenty Ugandan players have been nominated for the inaugural 256 Footballer of the Year award that is slated for November 18th, 2019 a day after Football-256 has marked one year of existence.

The award that will be chosen by the readers of the website through a poll has a mix of locally-based players and those who play outside Uganda.

The list has goalkeepers Denis Onyango and Joel Mutakubwa together with defenders Timothy Awany, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita and Hillary Mukundane.

Midfielders Nicholas Kasozi, Juma Balinya, Allan Okello, Bright Anukani, Mike Azira will also vie for a spot in the final shortlist of five.

The strikers are Patrick Kaddu, Emmanuel Okwi, Daniel Sserunkuma, Joel Madondo, Nelson Senkatuka, Mike Mutyaba, Ivan Bogere Frank Kalanda and Paul Mucureezi

The shortlist was formulated by a team of some of the leading sports journalists in the country with a keen eye on football.

They include; Ismael Kiyonga (Kawowo Sports and Akaboozi), John Vianney Nsimbe (The Observer and Kwese TV), Ismail Dhakaba Kikongo (Daily Monitor), Peter Tabu (Radio City), Brian Tuka (Capital Radio and Kwese TV), Herman Nnyanzi (Football-256) and Shafic Kiyaga (Football-256).

The others are Joel Muyita (Kawowo Sports), Joel Anguyo (Football-256), Brian Kawalya (Sports Nation), Martin Kaddu (Red Pepper and Sanyuka TV), Shafic Mutebi (Football-256 and FUFA FM), and Hope Mugisha (Football-256).

“It’s a good innovation that readers pick their choices gives it more sense of belonging to the fans, “looking forward to seeing how fans react to the final shortlist,” Kawowo Sports’ Kiyonga told

The final five nominees will be revealed on October 1st, 2019 for a public vote that will go for seven weeks and the player with the most votes will be declared the winners.

Every IP address will be have a chance to vote once every 24 hours from October 1st to November 17th, 2019.

The award that will be an annual event is aimed at appreciating the readers of Football-256 who have contributed to the growth of the website.

Shortlist of nominees: Emmanuel Okwi, Bright Anukani, Ivan Bogere, Nelson Senkatuka, Paul Mucureezi, Frank Kalanda Juma Balinya, Allan Okello, Timothy Awany, Hillary Mukundane, Daniel Mzee Sserunkuma, Mike Azira, Joel Mutakubwa, Patrick Kaddu, Denis Onyango, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Nicholas Kasozi, Joel Madondo, Mike Mutyaba

Related posts

McKinstry shows deft game management in Ouagadougou stalemate

Edward Raymond Komakech

KCCA turn focus to defending league crown, after failed continental campaign – Mutebi

Herman Nnyanzi

UPL: Agau lone strike condemns Kyetume to first loss

Ronald Lusulire


musasizi solomon September 5, 2019 at 9:00 AM

Am just surprised not to see David bagoole who had 13assists and 3goals then 5times pilsner man of the match awards and once upl player of the month.and when he got injured against Kcca in the second leg kjss never won a game till the end and madondo never scored again??

Kabali eremia September 5, 2019 at 6:45 PM

I am looking through the list but i don’t see BASHIR MUTANDA, y, was he not good enough to make it?

Mr Safe hands, defensive rock, maestro and goal machines; The top five 256 footballer of the year award nominees | Football256 September 30, 2019 at 3:25 PM

[…] nominees for the award were drawn from a list of 20 footballers who have been carefully selected by a team of journalists. The top five players from the initial 20 will compete for the […]


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More